Out-of-State/DACA/Undocumented Fee Waiver
In accordance to Florida Statute 1009.26(12), students who do not meet the criteria to be classified as a Florida resident for tuition purposes, may request an out-of-state fee waiver if they have attended a Florida secondary school for three consecutive years immediately preceding high school graduation, and apply for enrollment to a state university or a Florida College System institution within 24 months of high school graduation. The out-of-state tuition waiver does not constitute a change in their designated residency status.
Applicants and newly admitted students, up until the end of their first term, would submit the following form to the Office of Admissions to initiate this process.
After a student completes their first term at UF they would submit the following form to the Office of the University Registrar to initiate this process.
Tuition Fee Waiver FAQ
Who is eligible for this waiver?
Students who have attended a Florida secondary school for three consecutive years immediately before graduating from a Florida high school, and applied for admission to a Florida College System institution within 24 months of high school graduation.
What documentation is needed to verify eligibility for this waiver?
An official high school transcript, showing verification of graduation is required for eligibility of this waiver.
Is the out-of-state waiver only applicable to students who are undocumented for federal immigration purposes?
The waiver is for all students who meet the eligibility criteria, including those who are undocumented for federal immigration purposes.
Should a student be classified as a non-Florida resident for tuition purposes before eligibility for the waiver is determined?
The student's residency status should be determined before the out-of-state waiver is applied. Students who receive this waiver are classified as non-Florida residents.
Do eligible students have to enroll in courses within 24 months?
A student must apply for admission within 24 months after high school graduation.
Are students who attend a Florida private secondary school for three consecutive years eligible to receive the waiver?
Students from a private secondary school are eligible if they meet all eligibility requirements.
Are home education students eligible to receive this waiver?
Home education students are not eligible to receive this waiver since one of the requirements is that the student attended a Florida secondary school.
Are students whose parents live in another state eligible to receive this waiver?
Yes, if the student meets all the eligibility requirements, they are eligible for this waiver.
What does it mean for the waiver to be applied to 110 percent of the required credit hours of the degree or certificate program?
Students may enroll using the waiver for the number of credit hours that would equal 110 percent of the total number of required career or college credit hours of their intended degree or certificate program.
Does an eligible student need to maintain continuous enrollment in order to remain eligible for this waiver?
A student who meets the specified criteria will remain eligible for this waiver until the 110 percent limit is reached.